Best AI options trading tool in 2026: ChatGPT apps, Claude connectors and MCP servers
By OptionClaws · Updated 2026-11-04
The best AI options trading tool depends on whether you want an assistant to analyze options or to place orders: analysis tools such as OptionClaws and TradesViz do not place orders, while broker connections such as Alpaca and Public.com can submit real trades. This guide covers ten tools in three groups, alphabetical within each, using only facts from each company's own pages as opened on November 4, 2026. We make OptionClaws, which is one of the ten, so read its entry with that in mind.
Key facts
- For a ChatGPT app or Claude connector that analyzes options, the choices whose pages describe analysis and not order placement are OptionClaws, Options Analysis Suite (46 tools), QuantWheel (17 read-only wheel tools) and FlashAlpha.
- For order placement through an assistant, Alpaca's open-source MCP server and Public.com's Claude setup can submit real trades, including options; Alpaca defaults to paper trading, and Public states there is no paper mode. Interactive Brokers' Claude connector drafts instructions that you approve in your account.
- For journal data in an assistant, TradesViz connects to ChatGPT, Claude and Grok on Pro or Platinum, and its page says MCP cannot place, change or cancel broker orders.
- Plans vary: Options Analysis Suite includes its MCP server in Pro with a 14-day trial, QuantWheel includes it in Wheel and Quant, and Tradytics lists an MCP server on Pro at $69/mo.
- Of the 38 tools the OptionClaws assistant can call, 26 are read-only and the other 12 change only your own saved scans, watchlists and journal, or send feedback; none places a trade.
| What it is | Works with | Places orders? | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alpaca MCP server | Open-source broker server for stocks, options and crypto | Claude Desktop, Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code | Yes; paper trading by default |
| FlashAlpha | Options data and GEX through a remote MCP server | Claude custom connector | Not stated; its guide describes data tools |
| Interactive Brokers | Brokerage connector, marked Anthropic verified in Claude's marketplace | Claude | Drafts order instructions; you approve them in your account |
| Option Alpha | Trading bots and backtesting | No AI assistant connector found on its homepage | Yes, bots trade through your broker |
| OptionClaws | Options scanner, optimizer and journal | ChatGPT app, Claude connector, other MCP clients | No, never places trades |
| Options Analysis Suite | 46 options analytics tools | ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Grok | Not stated; its page describes analytics and data |
| Public.com | Brokerage with an official MCP server | Claude Desktop | Yes, live orders with an approval step |
| QuantWheel | Wheel screener and journal, 17 wheel tools over MCP | Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients | Wheel tools are read-only; the full server has an opt-in order tool |
| TradesViz | Trading journal connected to your assistant | ChatGPT, Claude, Grok | No, MCP cannot place broker orders |
| Tradytics | Options flow platform with an AI analyst | MCP server on Pro; clients not listed | Not stated |
How we grouped and checked these tools
This is not a ranking. The tools are ordered by what an assistant can do with them: first the analysis and data tools, then the broker connections that can place orders, then one automation platform that is not an assistant connector. Inside each group the order is alphabetical, and OptionClaws is sorted by name like the rest.
Everything about another product comes from that company's own site, documentation or repository, opened on November 4, 2026 and linked in the sources at the end. One of the Public.com facts comes from an article Public sponsored, and we say so. Where a page did not say something, we say we did not find it. The Interactive Brokers facts come from its listing in Claude's connector marketplace.
How an AI assistant connects to an options tool
MCP (Model Context Protocol) is an open-source standard for connecting AI applications such as Claude or ChatGPT to outside tools and data. An options tool publishes an MCP server, you sign in once, and the assistant can call that server's tools instead of guessing from memory. Without a connection, a chat model has no live option chains, so any strike or premium it quotes is recalled, not looked up.
In Claude, a service that is not in the Connectors Directory can be added as a custom connector. Anthropic's help page says Free users are limited to one custom connector, and warns that custom connectors reach services Anthropic has not verified, so you should connect only servers you trust and watch for prompt injection. The same caution applies to ChatGPT apps and any other client.
Try OptionClaws free
Works in ChatGPT and Claude, on the web, and in the iOS and Android apps. Free trial · No card required.
Analysis tools versus brokers that place orders
An analysis tool answers questions: which covered calls pay the most, what a position's breakevens are, how your recent trades did. If the assistant misreads you or is fed a bad instruction, the worst outcome is a poor answer. A broker connection can act: the assistant can submit an order that spends real money. Analysis tools can still change data in their own app, such as journal entries, so check each tool's permissions.
The tools below handle that difference differently. Alpaca defaults to paper trading and warns that its server can place real trades. Interactive Brokers' listing says Claude drafts trade instructions for your review and approval and never submits orders directly to the market. Public.com says all orders are live and that Claude shows an estimated cost before you approve. TradesViz states that its MCP cannot place orders, and QuantWheel's wheel tools are read-only, with order placement off by default on its full server. If you connect any broker, start with the smallest permissions and a paper account where one exists.
FlashAlpha
Best for: gamma exposure (GEX) data inside Claude. FlashAlpha's guide shows Claude connecting to a remote MCP server with OAuth, so no API key is pasted into the chat.
- Strengths: setup through Claude's custom connector flow; a free tier with individual equities such as AAPL for one listed expiration; the get_gex tool takes a symbol and an expiration.
- Limits: the free tier allows 5 requests per day, SPY, QQQ and SPX need a paid plan, and the guide describes data tools, not a strategy scanner.
- Price: free tier plus paid tiers (Basic, Growth, Alpha); we did not record paid prices.
OptionClaws
Best for: scanning the whole options market for income and spread trades from ChatGPT or Claude, then pricing and journaling the trade you pick. OptionClaws is our product. It has a ChatGPT app listed in ChatGPT's directory, a Claude connector and an MCP server that other clients can use.
- Strengths: ranked scans across 23 strategies on quotes refreshed intraday; get_top_trades for a short curated list; optimize_trade for a price target and date; analyze_position to price an exact position or roll leg by leg; a trade journal with a preview-then-confirm step.
- Limits: it never places trades (journal orders are practice only), has no backtesting, and needs an OptionClaws account; probabilities are model estimates.
- Price: one plan with every feature. See the pricing page for current terms.
Options Analysis Suite
Best for: a large catalog of options analytics as assistant tools. Its MCP page says the server provides 46 tools: 38 for market, research and pricing, 6 that read your synced account data and 2 for platform context.
- Strengths: works with ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity and Grok; OAuth sign-in for Claude, ChatGPT and Grok; its page says it is listed in Claude's connector directory and in the ChatGPT app directory.
- Limits: Perplexity's setup asks for an encoded email and password in an API-key field, per its page; real-time data needs your own broker integration; the page does not say whether any tool places orders.
- Price: the MCP server is included with a Pro subscription, which has a 14-day free trial; the pricing page lists no dollar amounts.
QuantWheel
Best for: wheel traders who want screening and a journal in an assistant. The Wheel MCP page lists 17 tools: 5 for market and screening, 11 for your wheels and journal and 1 for QW Intelligence. The full server has 38 tools across five groups.
- Strengths: the page says every wheel tool observes and never changes your account; OAuth sign-in through a Claude custom connector; named clients are Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor, and any client that supports Streamable HTTP can connect.
- Limits: the 17 wheel tools are read-only, but the full server's tool list includes an opt-in place_order tool that stays off until you switch on AI agent trading in QuantWheel's settings, which its page says cannot be done through MCP; the focus is the wheel rather than a wide strategy list.
- Price: the Wheel MCP is included with the Wheel ($49/mo) and Quant ($79/mo) plans; the GEX plan has GEX tools only.
TradesViz
Best for: asking an assistant about your own trade history. TradesViz runs a hosted MCP server connected to your journal, with no local server to install.
- Strengths: works with ChatGPT, Claude and Grok; browser sign-in with approval of selected accounts and permissions; read, add or edit, and delete permissions are separate, and journal changes use a preview before commit.
- Limits: it needs an active Pro or Platinum subscription, and its page says MCP cannot place, change or cancel broker orders. It does not state a tool count.
- Price: see TradesViz's pricing page for current plans.
Tradytics
Best for: options flow and dark pool data with an AI analyst, with an MCP server on the top plan. Its homepage describes the stream of options trades as they print, and an AI analyst inside the app.
- Strengths: Pro includes an unlimited AI analyst, API access capped at 50,000 calls a day and the MCP server.
- Limits: its pages do not list which assistants the MCP server supports, so we cannot confirm a ChatGPT or Claude connection.
- Price: Free; Plus $39/mo or $299/yr; Pro $69/mo or $499/yr.
Alpaca MCP server
Best for: developers who want an assistant to place options orders through a brokerage API. Alpaca's open-source server can place single-leg or multi-leg option strategies, and its repository warns that it can place real trades and access your portfolio.
- Strengths: tools such as place_option_order and get_option_snapshot, which returns greeks and implied volatility; paper trading is on by default and live trading is a setting you change.
- Limits: you supply an API key and secret as environment variables, the package does not configure remote MCP authentication, and its README says ChatGPT and Claude mobile are not supported with this package because they need a remote server.
- Price: not stated in the repository.
Interactive Brokers
Best for: asking Claude about your Interactive Brokers account and drafting trades you then approve yourself. Its listing in Claude's connector marketplace says you can connect your account to Claude and manage your portfolio through natural language. The listing is marked Anthropic verified and made by Interactive Brokers.
- Strengths: questions about positions, balances, P&L, allocations and open orders; real-time quotes and historical market data; ten tools, including get_account_positions, get_price_snapshot, get_order_instructions and search_contracts.
- Limits: the listing says Claude drafts trade instructions that go to your account for review and approval, and that Claude never submits orders directly to the market; it does not specify asset classes or options support; sign-in and an Interactive Brokers account are required.
- Price: the listing does not state a cost.
Public.com
Best for: placing live options orders from Claude Desktop through an official MCP server. Public's article, which it sponsored, says Claude can place market, limit, stop and stop-limit orders for stocks, ETFs and options, and submit multi-leg strategies such as iron condors and covered calls as one order.
- Strengths: a preflight check shows estimated cost and buying power impact before you approve; options chains and greeks are available.
- Limits: the article says all orders are live and there is no paper mode; setup needs a Public account, an API key and a config file edit; its claims about commissions and uptime come from Public.
- Price: the article says a paid Claude plan may be required; it states no Public subscription price.
Option Alpha
Best for: automating trades with rule-based bots rather than an assistant. Option Alpha's homepage does not mention AI assistants, ChatGPT, Claude or MCP, so it is here as a contrast: it places trades through your broker by design.
- Strengths: bots enter and exit positions on your rules; backtesting for 0DTE and other strategies; a 30-day free trial with no credit card.
- Limits: no assistant connector found on its homepage; it automates execution, which is the opposite of read-only analysis.
- Price: Pro $99/mo billed annually or $149 monthly; $0/mo with a qualifying TradeStation, Tradier or tastytrade account.
How to choose
If you want an assistant to find and explain options trades, pick an analysis tool: OptionClaws for scanning many strategies, Options Analysis Suite for a broad analytics catalog, QuantWheel for the wheel, TradesViz for your journal. If you want an assistant to act on your account, Alpaca and Public.com can, with the risks above, and Interactive Brokers drafts trades that you approve in your account. Option Alpha is the choice if you want rules, not an assistant.
Whichever you try, run the same question in two tools and compare. Ask for covered calls on a stock you hold and see which answer shows its inputs. See the guides for ChatGPT and Claude for setup. This is general information, not financial advice.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the best AI options trading tool?
- It depends on the job. For analysis from ChatGPT or Claude without order placement, OptionClaws, Options Analysis Suite, QuantWheel and TradesViz each fit a different need. For placing orders through an assistant, Alpaca and Public.com can, and both warn that real trades are possible.
- Is there a ChatGPT app for options trading?
- Yes, several. OptionClaws has an app listed in ChatGPT's directory, and Options Analysis Suite says it has one too. TradesViz and QuantWheel list ChatGPT among their supported MCP clients.
- What is the best MCP server for options trading?
- For breadth, Options Analysis Suite lists 46 tools. For the wheel, QuantWheel lists 17 read-only tools. For scanning and optimizing trades, OptionClaws offers 38 tools. For order placement, Alpaca's open-source server defaults to paper trading.
- Is there an options trading connector for Claude?
- Yes. OptionClaws, Options Analysis Suite, QuantWheel, TradesViz and FlashAlpha all describe Claude connections, Interactive Brokers has an Anthropic verified connector, and Public.com works with Claude Desktop. Claude's Free plan allows one custom connector, per Anthropic's help page.
- Can an AI assistant place options trades for me?
- Only through a broker connection. Alpaca and Public.com describe order placement, with paper trading by default at Alpaca and an approval step at Public. Interactive Brokers' Claude listing says Claude drafts instructions that you approve and never submits orders directly to the market. OptionClaws and TradesViz state that their tools cannot place orders, and QuantWheel's order tool is opt-in and off by default.
- Is this list sponsored or ranked?
- No. It is written by OptionClaws, which is one of the ten tools, and it is grouped by use and alphabetical within each group. One Public.com source is an article Public sponsored, which we flag. Every fact is linked in the sources.
Sources
- Model Context Protocol: what is MCP (checked 2026-11-04)
- Claude help: custom connectors using remote MCP (checked 2026-11-04)
- Options Analysis Suite: MCP server (checked 2026-11-04)
- Options Analysis Suite: pricing (checked 2026-11-04)
- QuantWheel: Wheel MCP (checked 2026-11-04)
- QuantWheel: MCP server (checked 2026-11-04)
- QuantWheel: pricing (checked 2026-11-04)
- TradesViz: trading journal API and MCP (checked 2026-11-04)
- FlashAlpha: connect Claude to FlashAlpha MCP with OAuth (checked 2026-11-04)
- Alpaca MCP server repository (checked 2026-11-04)
- Interactive Brokers: Claude connector listing (checked 2026-11-04)
- Public.com: trade with Claude (sponsored article) (checked 2026-11-04)
- Tradytics homepage (checked 2026-11-04)
- Tradytics pricing (checked 2026-11-04)
- Option Alpha homepage (checked 2026-11-04)
- Option Alpha pricing (checked 2026-11-04)
Related
Educational content, not investment advice. Options involve substantial risk and are not suitable for every investor. Product names are trademarks of their owners; details about other products come from their public pages on the dates shown and may have changed. See our Terms of Service.